Reflection: How to Whisper

Writing is like art. It’s a form of expression through words, which opens various doors, or perspectives, to the main idea. Such doors could be labeled as allegories, similes, or parallelisms. Writing is a world where various ideas come together and clash through evidence of other writings, and mingle through different opinions. It’s a subtle whisper to an audience on the deeper message trying to be conveyed, hidden under layers and layers of riddles; you might call them metaphors. That’s what makes a whisper so unique, whether writing or verbally speaking, whispers make the audience listen. It’s more discreet than a blunt theme with some bullet points, which makes the journey through each passage so difficult to navigate, but more rewarding in the end.

 

I call whispering a technique in writing because I don’t see it used very much, as it branches away from the “norm” of the English world.  Normal English pieces are structured in a way only that the “higher powers” want them structured:  introduction, body, and conclusion.  But, whispering is like creating a story within an English piece, and offers the reader a chance to embark on a journey, to fall down a rabbit hole, through the author’s mind.  I have been using this technique for quite some time now, including these past months through various Articles and Encounters, and now is the time to let the cat out of the bag.
If you don’t have an audience, you can’t whisper. What’s the point if no one will hear you? You might as well just never speak again. The key to whispering in a piece of writing is through rhetoric. It’s about confusing your reader on impact, and forcing them to keep re-reading your piece until they finally understand your perspective. (Some readers will never understand, maybe because the whisper was too subtle or because they gave up). It is the same idea with art; you want a “customer” to keep staring at your piece of art until they finally just understand it. You want your customer to question everything about your artwork, and to embark on a journey of putting clues and pieces together, until the puzzle becomes clear. That’s where the balance of the use of rhetoric comes in.

 

Take a look at the following example of rhetoric from Found Self: “The point is, we are all Lost souls waiting to be Found, to meet with the self. It is the journey to get to the self that creates our identity, who we are as people. That is the beauty of the imperfect journey of humanity, and finding the self.” The rhetoric in this brief passage is the comprehension of my idea of Self, that it’s a journey of creating and accepting an identity. But it’s not that simple. Rhetoric creates unanswered questions, purposefully, so that the reader will ponder these kinds of concepts after reading. The same idea applies to movies as well. A great movie will leave an impact on you, and will force you to ponder any unanswered questions or themes long after the credits rolled. Such questions I have created through this passage of Found Self include: What does it mean to be “Lost” and/or “Found” through the Self? Is your purpose in life complete after you have found who you are? What is my own journey like; have I found my Self yet? These types of questions were included in all of my pieces; my audience remained the same. I read various pieces of scholastic writing and realized that in essence, the audience that these pieces engaged were all rhetorical minds (of college students and above). Though my audience remained the same, (and thus my form of whispering in a rhetorical sense remained unchanged), that does not mean I didn’t “break the rules” of a genre.

 

Usually, an essay consists of: an introductory paragraph, three body paragraphs, and a conclusion.  I liked to reverse this approach by introducing parts of the conclusion first, with the main ideas in the middle, along with the conclusion being a revelation of my theme, without being too blunt.  I also did not follow the “three body paragraph” format; I wrote many, but smaller, paragraphs.  The reason for this was because I want my writing to be a story, not another essay typed in a college English class.  When you read a novel, you notice that the paragraphs are broken down into smaller passages with some sort of main idea, or clue, that hints at what the ending will be like.  Like a novel, each paragraph has a purpose to the theme.  That’s the approach I was going for.  I don’t throw in random words or break down paragraphs for nothing.  Everything was justified.
Even the great masterminds of writing, or art, or pretty much anything, have weaknesses, as well as unique strengths. Without attempting to brag, I believe my biggest strength was the recognition and exploitation of this use of whispering, and weaving my main ideas through each passage through various words. I find that writing, especially through narratives, can be fun (when I’m not in school) because of how much you can toy with an audience or a main idea, through words. I usually start an introduction with a glimpse of my main idea, with some confusing metaphors tossed in there. I than like to introduce any evidence or facts apparent with my main idea in the first few passages, without actually revealing the main idea, until the final paragraph. I feel as though I, and all authors, are responsible for creating a journey, or a game, for the readers, making the entire piece of writing that much more interesting. The readers basically take on the role of Sherlock Holmes, using my clues and evidence at the beginning of my writings as a “lead” to my main idea or theme: the treasure that all readers want to get their hands on. I don’t like to just hand what’s going on in my mind on a silver platter, the readers have to work for it.

 

Now, given my strengths, I also have many weaknesses as I am nowhere near a perfect writer. The big one is that I actually hate reading, and to be a good writer, you have to be a good reader, or at least be interested in reading. I hate reading anything and everything, Vogue magazines excluded. So, it was beyond difficult to sit and read some intellectually amazing pieces of writing in this class. In fact, I barely read anything, and somehow managed to “bullshit” my way through each essay. This is a weakness because my essays could have been so much stronger if I would have sat and thoroughly read what I was supposed to. However, I just took the main idea from each of my readings and somehow weaved, or whispered, them through my own writing. I barely got by.
To say that I didn’t learn anything in my classes would be like me saying I love my job. As much as I absolutely despise school, I must admit that I learned and accepted what the class is and was trying to convey. This class was about reading scholastic writing and writing a response to it, but also encouraged the use of creativity, especially in Encounters. I learned various perspectives and ideas from these kinds of authors, and borrowed some of their techniques to incorporate in my own writing. Given that I hopefully will never write an essay again in school, I love writing narratives and have learned how to engage an audience, without dropping my main idea like a 10 pound weight.  My use of whispering has been improved on, and I hope to one day publish a few of my own narratives through it. This was my journey through this class: a stray from the “norm” of writing, using my own technique of whispering through this form of art.

About tally

math, juice, world of warcraft, starcraft 2, call of duty, kingdom hearts, final fantasy, marvel vs. capcom 3, japan(ese), nom nomz, nerdiness, View all posts by tally

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

